Skip to content

Mrs D threatens ‘sanctions’

August 14, 2009

5th Sep 2006

A few days ago, I mentioned that Mrs D and I were in dispute re my daily alcohol intake. She has now rejected my quite reasonable (to me, anyway) offer to start taking my whisky with water rather than drink it neat. She pointed out that this proposal left me free to drink the same amount as before (Damn, she spotted it!). She pointed out that it was the volume of alcohol consumed that was of concern to the white-coated bastards doctors rather than how it entered my body, e.g., taken ‘neat’, or with water.

She pointed out I was being selfish. She pointed to the many dependants who would be inconsolable with grief if I were to depart this world prematurely because of my irresponsible drinking. I countered that it was all these bloody hangers-on that had driven me to drink in the first place!

At this point, I felt I was holding my own in the argument. But then she delivered the killer blow – she threatened sanctions!

I am not a weak man. I am not one to buckle under when threatened. I could live without access to the TV remote control. I could survive the confiscation of my laptop (I could access the internet from work). But when she threatened to deny me sexual ‘favours’ (the bitch!) – it was too much to bear. Would you believe, she said unless the dispute was resolved in her favour, she was no longer going to cater to my ‘wants’ –

No longer could I borrow her clothes when attending the Madhatters committee meetings.

It was too much to think about. How could I face Nobbly and Ratty at our next meeting. The buggers would laugh at me. I’d never live it down.

I am ashamed to admit it, but in the face of this ultimate threat, I capitulated. I have reluctantly agreed to Mrs D’s demand that I limit myself to only one drink a day.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gx18RPJ9

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 3:57 am

    Oh
    my
    god

  2. August 14, 2009 6:47 am

    Women rule the world!

    • August 14, 2009 6:52 am

      There is a flaw in your logic, Julie, these are women… I hope to god not!

      Love the larger glass for the more needing man.

    • August 14, 2009 7:43 am

      Old Chinese saying –

      Man is ‘head’ of household – but woman is ‘neck’ that turns the head !!!

  3. August 14, 2009 11:05 am

    Gotta love the Old Chinese saying….
    do we get a pic of you on ‘girls’ night out?

    • August 14, 2009 11:35 am

      Sorry, DF – don’t have any decent pics

      Only one I had didn’t do me justice at all. My hair was a mess, my lipstick smudged, my frock ripped, and I laddered my stockings. 😳

  4. August 16, 2009 12:05 am

    Is it wrong to find the picture of ‘Nobbly’ somewhat attractive?
    Probably best not to answer that.

Leave a Reply

