Skip to content

Shit !!!

September 21, 2009

19th Apr 2007

Yesterday was not a good day!

Mrs D has been complaining of a tightness in her chest and has been coughing up blood for some time now. When she eventually plucked up the courage to visit our G.P. She recommended a chest x-ray, so we took some time off work yesterday afternoon to attend the x-ray unit at the hospital.

Having viewed the results of the x-ray, the medical staff then wheeled Mrs D away for additional CAT scan of her chest before allowing her to leave.

She has an appointment next Tuesday with her G.P. to discuss the results of the tests. In the meantime, I’ve been reading up about Cat Scans, chest pains, and coughing up blood, on the Internet. The omens are not good !!!

It’s going to be a long few days until next Tuesday!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 12:47 pm

    Recently visited the donut machine myself, but under (what I hope) are much less dire circumstances.

    The days can be long. I will be thinking of you and the Mrs.

    • September 21, 2009 1:57 pm

      Thanks, DF.

      I hope your own visit to the ‘donut machine’ does not portend anything too serious !!!

      Sadly, for Mrs D the results were the worst possible.

      The past 2.1/2 years have been a painful journey for us both – one that is now nearing the end !

      But I hope to show in these extracts from my ‘diary’ that it has not all been doom and gloom, we have found humour where we can. Indeed it is my belief that if you can laugh at something you diminish its ability to overpower you – and sometimes laughter is the only weapon left to us !!!

  2. September 21, 2009 1:30 pm

    Are you really going down this route duncan? If so courage will be needed by author and readers alike.

    • September 21, 2009 2:31 pm

      With your medical knowledge Dave, you will guess where this is leading !!!

      And yes, as will become clear in later posts, you are correct in your surmise.

      Mrs D is one of the most courageous people I have ever known. She truly is a ‘fighter’ .

      It would have been easy to accept the inevitable but she has refused to give in.

      But in the end, despite what medicine and procedures are applied and her own indomitable will, all we can really do is delay the final outcome.

      Now that our life together is nearly over I have decided to go public with extracts from my ‘diary’ as a tribute to the courage of the woman I love, and in the hope that ‘our story’ may give strength to others in similar situations.

      Please keep reading. I promise it will not all be doom and gloom from now on – that is not how we have lived our life together. There will hopefully be plenty to make you smile in the later posts.

      • September 21, 2009 4:35 pm

        I applaud your decision and will stock up on tissues, for tears or laughter PRN.

  3. September 21, 2009 4:32 pm

    Duncan,
    You shared a bit of this with me earlier and I think about your struggles often. I take care of my ex-husband who is in a nursing home with MS. Different story but I do understand some of the journey for tests, diagnoses, trips to the ER, watching the inevitable.

    I am glad you’re sharing this with us. Bravery and resilience are in short supply nowadays and you both offer us a beautiful example of facing the end of life. Thank you.

    We’ll laugh with you and we’ll cry with you. What a lovely tribute to Mrs. D….. when you’re not calling her a shrew and the likes.
    Warm hugs,
    DF.

  4. Julie permalink
    September 21, 2009 5:30 pm

    Ok, I can come out and say this now. I have known Duncan (and Nobbles) for some time on the internet, so I’ve been travelling some of the way with Duncan and Mrs D. It’s never been easy for me to ask Duncan “how are things?” – I was always so scared of the answer. Sometimes when I got his response I would cry and other times I would jump for joy!

    I have never personally met Duncan or Mrs D, but I’ve gotten to ‘know’ them. For me, it’s been very difficult to accept that such a beautiful relationship as the two of them have will come to an end, I cannot even imagine myself in their shoes.

    It IS a beautiful story of their lives together (I just don’t know how else to say it)! Duncan – I’m so glad you decided to share it, knowing that someone who is in the same position as you are will read it and maybe gain a little comfort and strength from your experience. Anyone who stops reading will lose out on something truly inspirational!

    Duncs – you are the best friend I have ever met, I respect your courage and your outlook on life. You’re a friend in a million!

    I salute you both!
    xxxxxx

  5. September 21, 2009 9:58 pm

    Duncan…I had no idea. I’m speechless right now. Hugs.

  6. September 22, 2009 9:04 am

    Cor!

    That’s a bloody relief…. at least Duncan and Anita’s unfortunate situation is now public knowledge.

    I also echo Julie’s sentiments (except the kisses bit at the end…. beard hair in my mouth never did much for me). Duncan’s occasional updates on Anita’s health, and the way that they both deal with a situation that would leave me a gibbering wreck, have been an absolute inspiration.

    Right…that’s that out of the way. Can we get back to chucking insults about now?

    • September 22, 2009 1:03 pm

      I agree with you there, shortass – too much sentimentality creeping in 😉

  7. October 2, 2009 11:21 pm

    Dunc…sorry I have been a bit behind here. Sending good wishes your way.

Leave a Reply

