Skip to content

Women !!!

September 25, 2009

28th Apr 2007

It’s the waiting that’s hard. Being back at work during the week helped. With plenty to keep her occupied during the day, Mrs D had less time to spend worrying about the future. I’m concerned, however, that with no work to go to and only a couple of days before her hospital appointment on Monday she’ll slip back into deep despair and depression this weekend. With that in mind, I’ve drawn up a plan to keep her fully occupied today and tomorrow.

Man_of_the_year_Awards_1300Groceries – no shopping online with Tesco. Takes too little effort and too little time. Instead, I’ve drawn up a list of ‘essentials’ – beer, wine, dorritos, dog food, bog rolls, etc – which I propose Mrs D fetches from the shops herself. To further fill her time, I propose she do this without taking the car. It’s only a 40 minute walk to the supermarket, and the exercise will do her good.

Housework – every room in the house to be cleaned from top to bottom.

F_113757_32uDASuCeRNKm4jWTPreSth8IFgUQsWashing-up. Use of the dishwasher banned. All crocks to be washed, and dried, by hand. Likewise, use of the washing-machine and tumble dryer banned. All clothes and bedlinen to be washed in the bath, by hand, then hung out to dry on the line in the garden. This should soak up a bit of time.

decorating300Decorating – Back in January, Mrs D stripped the walls in our bedroom in preparation for me to hang the new wallpaper she’d bought. I haven’t quite got round to doing this yet (been waiting for the right time – a Saturday afternoon when there’s no sport on the TV). I propose Mrs D complete this task herself (got to keep her busy!)

While on the subject of D.I.Y., some weeks ago Mrs D bought some garden swings and a see-saw for the grandkids to play on when they visit. These are still in the pack. I have been waiting for the right moment to assemble them – (a Saturday afternoon when there’s no sport on the TV). Putting these together should keep her busy for a couple of hours.

cutting_grassGardening – The grass needs cutting, the hedges and shrubs cut back and pruned, and the patio cleaned. And if she still has time on her hands, the garden shed needs a lick of paint. I have been waiting for the right moment to tackle this – (a Saturday afternoon when there’s no sport on the T.V).

All these tasks, plus cooking my dinner, of course, should keep her pretty busy and stop her brooding. I was feeling quite pleased with myself. When I showed Mrs D the schedule of activities I had lovingly drawn up for her, her reaction, however, was not what I expected. And when I explained that, as a further considerate gesture, I was planning to keep out from under her feet by meeting Harry and Dave round the pub – well, if I hadn’t chosen that precise moment to lean forward to top up my glass, that ‘flying saucer’ could well have caused me a very nasty head injury.

Women!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 7:50 am

    I thought MrsD always found her mark with missiles?

    • September 26, 2009 5:12 pm

      Most times you’d be right but this was one of those rare occasions when luck, for once, was on my side 😆

  2. September 25, 2009 9:28 am

    Very caring, Duncan. You should be commended for your approach to MrsD’s welfare.

    I suppose she was overcome with emotion at your kind, selfless proposal, and the saucer slipped out of her hand (discus fashion) as she spun round to thank you for your suggestion.

  3. September 25, 2009 12:52 pm

    Men!!

  4. September 25, 2009 2:16 pm

    Unfortunately, you didn’t take into consideration the fact that men and women are from two separate planets. On Venus, that sort of list is totally frowned upon.

Leave a Reply

