Skip to content

Death Sentence

December 16, 2009

3rd Jun 2008

Mrs D has not been too well since the radiotherapy for her brain tumour a couple of weeks ago. She has been in a lot of pain since then and been unable to go to work. In fact, the last few days she has been too weak to get out of bed.

This morning, however, she gamely struggled out of bed to keep the appointment with the Consultant at the Hospital to hear the results of the latest Scans. It was not good news. In effect, he pronounced a death sentence on Mrs D.

I held it together at the Hospital, but when we stopped at a pub on the way home I started greetin’ like a bairn.

Folk keep saying I’m a strong person – and maybe I am – but I am not a patch on Mrs D.

As an example of her fighting spirit I can do no better than quote here the email she sent her boss afterwards to tell him the news . . . .

Good News: Cancer no where else in my body. Tumour in lung reduced to size of a boiled sweet.

Bad News: Cancer still in brain – scan after treatment shows massive scar tissue; cannot see how big tumour is; but still there.

No more treatment available; can only monitor and offer steroids; against any symptoms presented.

Prognosis: 6 months – best guess (up to 2 years if very, very, very, very, lucky)

Ian [aside – My Boss] I have copied you; as Duncan has taken this news far worse than myself.

Well sod the lot of them – feel OK – see you tomorrow.

Anita‘

That’s my girl!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 3:41 am

    It must be different to the one who is suffering. Just reading about it makes me cry.

    • December 17, 2009 9:42 pm

      Anita has often said it’s easier for her than for folk around her. She’s not frightened of dying. She knows the battle is nearly over now and has come to terms with that. It’s the people she will leave behind who are struggling to accept the end is near.

  2. December 16, 2009 4:15 am

    That woman is of tough stuff, which I imagine has served you well in these past years.. and now I hope as well.

    • December 17, 2009 9:33 pm

      I’ve always been attracted to ‘strong’ women’ 😳

      • December 18, 2009 3:43 pm

        What’s the blush for? Should I take that as a sideways compliment? May I take that as a sideways compliment?

        Holding you both in my thoughts,
        df

  3. wife of cancer patient permalink
    December 16, 2009 5:24 am

    http://my.crazysexylife.com/ offered with hope 🙂

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Thanks !

  4. December 16, 2009 2:08 pm

    Hi Duncan, I had know idea you and Anita were going through this until I was kindly sent an email. I really don’t know what to say but my thoughts and prayers are with you both. My mum has battled two bouts of cancer and it is something I wouldn’t wish on anyone. I send you a big warm hug 🙂

    • December 17, 2009 9:29 pm

      Hhmm, I’m still miffed you never got me any cherries 🙄 – still, I suppose a hug is better than nothing 😉

      xx

      • December 18, 2009 6:37 am

        I would if I could, but I am not allowed to even send them across to the eastern states. We have a strict quarantine law here 😦 . Oh and I will make sure the hug isn’t after I just finished Jacobs Ladder 🙂

Leave a Reply

