Skip to content

Women are Sneaky !!!

January 18, 2010

16th Apr 2009

20 years is a long time to be married. You would think it deserved more recognition than to be called our bloody ‘China’ Anniversary.

Two years ago when we were told Mrs D had Stage 4 lung cancer the idea that she would still be here to celebrate our 20th seemed an almost impossible dream. However, I always told Mrs D we would do it. My virtual ‘wee sister’, Noseycow laughs at my Celtic ‘feelings’ but when it is Mrs D’s time to go I will ‘know it’. Both my parents died after long illnesses and when they finally passed away – even though I was not physically with them – I ‘knew’ that they had gone. I have not had that feeling yet with Mrs D. Until I do, we will keep on fighting the cancer. And even when I do get that dreaded feeling, we will continue to fight it till the end.

Anyways, after a couple of years ‘living in sin’ then 20 years of marriage you’d think I would know Mrs D pretty well. But women are sneaky bastards – and Mrs D is no exception!!!

Because 20 years is a ’significant’ anniversary – and we both know there will not be a 25th anniversary – I had made plans to make the event memorable. I hired the big room at the Social Club, talked to one of our friends who does p/time DJ work to do the Disco, my mate Mickey’ Singh was going to do the buffet – lots of samosas etc – had tentatively booked a fabulous husband and wife musical/comedy act that are well-known in the Midlands. Then Mrs D pulled the plug on all my grand plans. She didn’t want a ‘big do’. She just wanted to celebrate quietly – on our own, just the two of us.

Which is why I was taken aback when we went out to our favourite Chinese Restaurant (‘China’ anniversary – Chinese restaurant. Get it? Oh well, please yourself) and found this lot there –

Click on pics to enlarge . . .

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 8:40 am

    Those look like records of a grand evening…

  2. delicate flower permalink
    January 18, 2010 3:00 pm

    It’s fun to see the pictures. thanks

Leave a Reply

