Skip to content

Carla Cleaner

February 1, 2010

20th June 2009

As she has got progressively weaker, Mrs D has had to rely more and more on me to do things she would have done herself in the past – lifting her out of the bath, helping her get dressed, cooking, housework, shopping. All this, on top of going to work and walking and feeding the dogs, had Mrs D feeling sorry for me. She decided to lessen my workload. She would engage the services of a cleaner.

Several images filled my mind at this statement – (Click on pics to enlarge)

This was one of Mrs D’s better ideas !!!

‘I’ll get right on it’, I said. ‘Tricky business hiring a cleaner, though. I may have to interview a few before hitting on the one that’s just right for us’

‘You needn’t bother’, said Mrs D, giving me a funny look (can she read my mind, I wondered)

‘I’m going to ask Carla (her niece) if she’ll come round do a couple of hours a week. She’s out of work at the moment so she could do with some extra cash and it’ll be one less job for you to do on a Saturday

‘Oh right’, I said. ‘Er, will she need some kind of a uniform? I could have a look round if you like. Save her getting her clothes all mucky

Mrs D spoke no words – just rolled her eyes and made a ‘Tch’ sound with her mouth

‘Bugger! ’, I thought – she CAN read my mind !!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 3:52 am

    🙄

  2. February 1, 2010 8:14 pm

    Daydreams are free…

  3. February 2, 2010 1:51 am

    If I had gotten to vote I’d have liked to have No. 1.
    We women have been notorious mind readers since the beginning of time. You lot are too transparent and can’t always control your eagerness!!

  4. The Celtic Queen permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:48 pm

    No 2 Dunc . Blondes have more fun.

  5. February 23, 2010 8:34 pm

    Naw, if it had been up to me I would have picked No3 for her beautiful smile 😆

  6. The Celtic Queen permalink
    February 24, 2010 12:22 am

    Yeah right lol !

Leave a Reply

