Skip to content

Wheels on Fire

February 26, 2010

30th Aug 2009

Mrs D got a new set of wheels a few days ago..

Brand new. No previous owner. Her favourite colour too – black, and with alloy wheels.

Dual control. Does 0-12mph in 5 minutes (downhill, with a wind behind me and 4 pints of beer inside me)

We took it for a trial spin today to our local 24 hr Tesco supermarket.

There were a few hairy moments till I got the hang of it – it’s not easy dragging a trolley with one hand and pushing a wheelchair with the other, particularly when the occupant of the wheelchair , and the trolley are set on going different directions !!!

All in all, though, the outing was a success. The wheelchair allowed Mrs D the opportunity to get out and about instead of being trapped in the house too weak to walk anywhere even with the aid of a stick or a zimmer frame.

She also was able to buy herself a load of makeup thingies and a new ‘top’ which delighted her even more.

So yes, definitely a success. The wheelchair was worth every penny I paid for it. Before we take it out on the road again though I’ll need to practice my 3-point turns.

As I said to the Manager at Tesco –

That was a bloody silly place to stack a pile of baked beans !!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 8:41 am

    Yep, even the biggest supermarkets manage to obstrcut every aisle and corner with stuff; me I aim for it wilfully!

  2. bill permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:01 am

    I deliberately avoided reading this blog when, Duncan, you first introduced it. I thought it would be too painfull to read.

    Now, having read it, I realise I was wrong.

    Sure, I had tears in my eyes when reading your entries, but there were tears of laughter too!

    I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved Anita.

    And I am so proud to know you Duncan, albeit through the internet.

    You really are a special man. I don’t believe I’m alone in saying that!

    • February 28, 2010 10:59 am

      Thanks for those kind words, Bill – though in truth, there’s nothing special about me. I’m just a man who loved a woman and fought to keep her alive as long as I could.

      No different really to you or Nobbly who would do exactly the same if you found yourself in a similar position !!!

      • The Celtic Queen permalink
        February 28, 2010 3:50 pm

        You’re a modest man too Duncan. I was watching on TV tonight a woman who will die also from a brain tumor and her little boy is only about 4.
        He may not even remember his mummy or the love she had for him so it was heartbreaking. She’d only be in her 30s. I said to Jan that at least we’ve had a lifetime together, the kids have been wonderful, nothing can compare with that kind of joy and we all have a great respect for each other . This little child won’t have this time with his mummy. Jan is sick now but we’ve had a wonderful life full of good things. It’s so tragic to see this happen to a mother and child it really is. Sometimes I wonder why God lets this happen. I question my faith when I hear of things like this.

      • February 28, 2010 7:18 pm

        I’ve been questioning my ‘unfaith’, Ann , since Anita died.

        I’m an atheist – yet I would so long to be proved wrong and to think there really is ‘something’ after this life and I will be reunited with Anita in time

  3. February 27, 2010 4:10 am

    you mean you spilled the beans?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

