Skip to content

No Resuscitation

March 8, 2010

28th Oct 2009

I feel I should write something but find myself lost for words.

Last week was not a good week for Mrs D.

For the 1st time since we were told she had cancer, I had to call the McMillan Nurse from the local Hospice, and the district nurse in to help. Amongst other things discussed with the nurses, Mrs D made a declaration – to be recorded in her medical notes – that should her heart stop there is to be no attempt to resuscitate her.

There is much I could say about the hellish week that was but I find myself restrained by the wish to allow Mrs D to maintain some dignity.

There were times last week when the end seemed very very near and I was feeling very low. Then a friend sent me a vid. Because I was in an emotionally fragile state the vid reduced me to tears. But then the message it conveyed lifted me up. It would be so easy to give up, to accept the inevitable. But if I give up on herwhat then has Mrs D left to fight for? I need to remain strong so that I can pass some of that strength to Mrs D. This vid reminded me of the need never to give up – ever, no matter how dark the future may seem.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 5:53 am

    [originally posted 1st Nov 2009]

    Duncan,

    Keep believing in the power of positive thought. It’s got the pair of you this far through your trials and tribulations, so don’t give up on it now.

    For what it’s worth, that clip brought tears to my eyes, and I’m not in a fragile emotional state.

    Accept whatever comes, but let it come on your terms as far as possible.

    Cheers, mate.

  2. The Celtic Queen permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:36 am

    I know this is going to sound incredible even unbelievable but I know this man. He lives in Keilor Downs Victoria Melbourne near where I lived and I first met him in the Keilor Downs hotel as a five year old. I was out having dinner and he waddled over to where I was eating and introduced himself to Jan and I. He was a beautiful blond haired charismatic child with no arms and no legs to speak of and yet he was a giant I couldn’t believe it when I opened this video. I worked for a huge timber outlet and his father used to bring him in and stand him on the counter. He never ever lacked confidence even as a five year old and motivational speaking is what he loves to do.
    Go Nik

    • March 8, 2010 3:23 pm

      He’s a little man with a big, big heart whose courage, strength, determination, and positive attitude to life put many ‘able-bodied’ folk to shame !!!

      • The Celtic Queen permalink
        March 8, 2010 10:42 pm

        He swims and dives off the board. He was on 60 minutes a couple of years back and has even gone out on a couple of dates. I think he’d love to be in a relationship because he was a lot of love to give that’s for sure. He has a full time carer and he types all his ‘stuff’ with the little foot. He injured it once playing soccer and as he put it he was like a ‘cripple’. Yes we do have a lot to be thankful for. This guy is and inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

