Skip to content

Goodbye, my Love

March 24, 2010

They came from work in a convoy of cars to say goodbye. (see – http://tinyurl.com/yls3tva)

They were not alone in doing so. Many others did too – the new work friends she had made. But those who were with her in the beginning were with her at the end. She would have been pleased with that.

The crem was packed when I stood to say a few words. I had thought about what I wanted to say but whether I said what I had intended, I do not know. When the moment came, the words I spoke were from the heart not the head.

Afterwards, we moved to the Cricket Club. This was a compromise between our ‘Local’ pub and the swanky (expensive) new Sports Club favoured by Mrs D for her Wake. But in truth, it was the best choice. We held our Wedding reception in the Cricket Club. What could be more fitting then that we should mark the end of our life together at the venue where we had marked it’s beginning.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. The Celtic Queen permalink
    March 24, 2010 8:15 am

    Duncan what a beautiful tribute, it’s very touching indeed. You must have had a great life together. I agree, a very fitting place to have her Wake. Places that mean something to you are always the best. Also you look great in your kilt.

  2. MrsT permalink
    March 24, 2010 8:41 am

    Duncan, such a beautiful tribute to a brave and lovely lady.

    Thank you for sharing it with us xxxxxx

  3. March 24, 2010 9:12 am

    Absolutely beautiful Duncs! xxxxxx

  4. March 24, 2010 12:05 pm

    It’s 7:03 AM here in my corner of the world, tears are streaming down my face. Bloody Hell!

    To see the captured moments of joy, fun, friendship and love that each image holds is truly a gift for all of us who have shared in this journey.. even the remotest ones of us. It’s a fitting tribute.

  5. March 24, 2010 10:44 pm

    A beautiful tribute to a beautiful woman. The last few seconds was a real kicker.

  6. March 25, 2010 7:52 am

    Thanks, guys.

    Sadly, Anita and i were the sort of people to take a camera with us then forget to use it, so there are not very many pictures capturing our years together. Not as many as I would like, certainly.

    Those I do have bring back so many memories.

    Thank you for reading and commenting on the story of our life together.

    There is just one more post to complete this blog. I hope you’ll all stick around for ‘The Last Post’ tomorrow

  7. Baden and Ann permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:54 am

    A fitting tribute Duncan to a lovely lady adored by her husband and family.

    • April 7, 2010 7:38 pm

      Thanks, guys.

      Hope you’re both well

      Putting those photos together was both a painful and a pleasurable experience – the Cardiff pics brought back memories of some lovely, boozy, fun-filled weekends !!!

  8. November 3, 2013 3:29 pm

    Such a beautiful tribute.

  9. January 3, 2016 6:54 pm

    Duncan, I’m sorry for your loss. And thank you for sharing her with us. What a lovely tribute.

    • January 3, 2016 7:47 pm

      Hi Colleen

      thank you for visiting my old blog and leaving a comment

      I don’t know what I did to deserve the love of a woman like Anita but I am profoundly grateful to have done so

      I miss her so much – particularly on this day , the anniversary of her death !

      • January 4, 2016 5:05 am

        I would say what you did to deserve her love…was love her wonderfully.

        I’m sorry for your pain Duncan. I’ve read you for a couple of years now Duncan, and I have always appreciated your love for Anita.

Leave a Reply

